SAAMA Designations

The criteria, qualifications and experience for each of the three designations are detailed in the Asset Management Professional Designations Framework.

Please note that SAAMA’s professional designations are only available to SAAMA members.

In order for skills and knowledge acquired outside of formal educational institutions to be formally recognised, SAAMA has an RPL policy that caters for such applications where the applicant does not meet the qualification requirements stated in the designation framework. To learn more about our RPL policy, click here

Before starting the process, please have an updated CV and a copy of your highest educational qualification documents ready. To apply, select the relevant link below.

Application Fees

  • Certified Senior Principal in Asset Management R4 500
    • CSAM™ Recertification Fee R1 350
  • Certified Practitioner in Asset Management R3 500
    • CPAM™ Recertification Fee R1 050
  • Certified Technician in Asset Management R2 000
    • CTAM™ Recertification Fee R600

Continuous Professional Development (CPD)

To ensure that SAAMA members who are accredited in one of the professional designations, uphold a level of knowledge associated with the accredited designation, SAAMA has developed a CPD policy that sets the standards and requirements for continuous professional development, after accreditation.

Benefits for Professional Members

The benefits for professionalised members include:

  • Accreditation in a professional designation highly sought after in the market
  • International recognition of designations through SAAMA's global partners
  • Recognition of experience, level of work and technical competence by peers
  • Governance of minimum standards associated with the profession
  • Career enhancing professional development and career pathing;
  • Affliation with a recognised professional body; and
  • Subscribing to a code of conduct protecting the asset management profession